Learning to See in the Dark

I have suffered an injury to both my eyes, to the extent that I cannot read without a magnifying glass and I had to use the accessibility options on my computer to magnify everything by 250% just to get by. I don’t have a drivers’ license but I don’t think I’d be allowed to drive even if I did. I can’t read signs, I can’t see the traffic lights, and sometimes I can’t even see cars at a certain distance. Not like they’re blurry but like they aren’t even there to my eyes.

My prognosis is unknown. It could take a couple weeks or a year or never get better. I saw the optometrist today and I’ll see him again in two months. For now I’m adjusting and trying not to be upset, but I don’t know yet how this will affect my art. I only recently started to consider myself an artist, and now I have to find new ways to see.

Shamans have been described as those who can “see in the dark.” This is what I need to learn to do, now more than ever. I used to have an uncanny ability to spot animals at night. Sometimes it was more like a psychic seeing as I wasn’t really seeing the animal in the first place. I just knew it was there.

Now more than ever I need to sharpen my other physical senses, and my spiritual senses, to navigate this world.

3 thoughts on “Learning to See in the Dark

  1. I don’t know what else to say except you are probably the bravest person I know. You are a true alchemist, always turning what others would see as a disaster, into something beautiful.

    I’m still gonna pray you get your sight back, and quickly, though. 😜❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

