Shamanic Soul Loss and Soul Retrieval

vultures
vultures

Life takes energy from us violently and traumatically at times. Why this happens is a human question that no human answer will really satisfy. Suffice it to say that suffering affects us all, and when it does, a piece of our personal energy – a piece of our soul – can be severed off from us. We experience this as a piece of ourselves going missing. Losing pieces of ourselves chips away at our power and truth, as well as keeping us from any real healing until the parts are recovered.

For this reason, I advocate a “search and rescue” approach. This means actively seeking our lost parts and working to heal them. I believe it is nearly impossible to get through life without some kind of soul loss, and that people can suffer from deep, crippling soul loss even if they haven’t experienced what they would define as a traumatic event. Trauma comes in all shapes and sizes, and our reactions to events vary from person to person. Also, since I believe a traumatic event can cause soul loss, it follows that until that soul part is found, healed, and re-integrated into the self, one’s memory of that part’s trauma may also be obscured or lost.

How can you know the extent of your soul loss? Consider how you relate to the following symptoms:

  • Constant feelings of sorrow, darkness, or fear
  • Emptiness
  • A driving need for distraction (addiction issues, materialism, avoiding alone time)
  • Feelings of having no purpose or reason to live
  • Lingering, haunting pain from old memories
  • Feeling that something is very wrong with you
  • Symptoms of PTSD (anxiety, depression, hyper vigilance, fear, avoidance of life’s activities), even if you don’t remember a past traumatic event

It is likely that the more you relate to these symptoms, the greater your soul loss is.

Shamanic practitioners who practice soul retrieval might offer instant relief from your suffering and require only faith from the sufferer. I believe that healing and other magic require both faith and action. A practitioner ought not to merely tell someone about the soul part(s) they retrieved, but help that person connect with them personally. As I mentioned, my way of healing advocates “search and rescue” first. I believe finding and building a healing relationship with your lost soul parts is more important than trying to integrate them into yourself immediately. Finding a missing part is the first step towards healing, and beyond that, it’s best not to push. You might end up pushing the lost part away without realizing it. Instead, build a relationship with this soul part just as you would with a spirit guide, and strive to be as honest with yourself as possible.

If you would like to work with me to begin healing, check my About page to see what I have to offer: https://wherespiritstops.wordpress.com/free-shamanic-readings-and-healing/

7 thoughts on “Shamanic Soul Loss and Soul Retrieval

  1. Hello. I’ve enjoyed reading a couple of your blogs, Very reflective of my own thoughts and practices. its been nice to feel re-assured by someone else who appears to have similar ways of working. in my early days I had some soul retrieval work done by a lady who was more of a “find it and force it back in” type. and I always felt it took along time to re-integrate my respective parts back into my situation. so I have always believed we don’t only need to work as a bridging link between the spirit and the phys’y world but also as a mediator, a facilitator and to some extent a “Social” worker.

    Thanks,
    see ya down the road

    Al

      1. and to yours. I may have missed it somewhere. I just wondered where you are based, I’m currently in south UK, however my practice is kind of a blend of many different cultural influences.

      2. I’m in Ontario, Canada. I’ve done a lot of philosophical/cultural blending too, but it’s kind of like rediscovering what our hearts knew all along 🙂

Leave a Reply

