The Art of Trying

A few years ago, I heard a song. It was Ludovico Einaudi’s Giorni Dispari, and I decided I was going to learn to play it on the piano. Trouble was, I didn’t know how to play the piano, having never had a single lesson. I had only just procured a beaten-up, 100-year-old piano and I couldn’t read music properly.

However, this was important to me. I decided I could do it. I bought the sheet music and started out by mapping the notation to the actual keys I’d need to hit. Then, I started practicing tiny sections, one section at a time.

Then, I practiced until I could play the whole thing (it’s five and a half minutes) without making mistakes, or at least not too many! Finally, I could do it. One of my favourite memories is playing it for my partner, with all the lights off and the piano-top ablaze with candles.

I loved, loved being able to play this song. And it only happened because I decided to try — and because I decided I could do it.

3 thoughts on “The Art of Trying

Leave a Reply

