Keeping the Faith

It can be so difficult to connect with spirit when you’re not well. This past week, I was visited by severe anxiety and some sadness, feelings which did not seem my own. When your world has gone dark and frightening, and your cries to spirit seem unheard, how can you care for your faith?

One thing to remember is that your core beliefs don’t change even when you can’t feel a connection with them. You may have lost that spark of inspiration and meaning, but it doesn’t mean these things have ceased to exist for you. Still, it may be best to wait rather than to push — desperately trying to connect with spirit when you are in this state could be terribly frustrating and even devastating. So put your faith symbolically into hibernation. Consider burying something to this effect, or planting a seed. Trust that your faith will emerge in its proper season and make some small efforts to care for it while you wait; as small as listening to a particular song that used to move your spirit. Try not to mourn, but trust instead that a season of renewal will come.

Image

10 thoughts on “Keeping the Faith

  1. Hi Jove,
    Haven’t been here for a while and was catching up with you tonight
    This post really hit a cord – I have been “down” for longer than I can really recall – then a couple weeks ago I started brewing kombucha tea and the nurturing of it or just the fact I have a project outside of working for a living seems to be lifting my spirits some…
    Thank you!

  2. This post touched my heart and spirit, it is written so beautifully and your words have really reached out to me. It’s been too long since we last spoke and my lack of presence here has been for similar reasons to those you are writing about. I’ve been struggling a lot and needed time away to heal and grow. Your words sum up my own experiences over the last while, it’s been very challenging to connect with spirit when faced with anxiety and depression, though I finally feel stronger and have learned some very important lessons along the way. I really wanted to say hello and that I’ve been thinking about you even when I haven’t been here. This post has helped me more than you could ever know, thank you. You are in my heart and my thoughts.

    1. I’ve been thinking about you and I missed you — it’s lovely to hear from you, though I’m sorry to hear you’ve been struggling. I hope the worst is over for you now. If you ever just want to vent or have a virtual cry, please feel free to send a rant my way! My email is janicejove@gmail.com.

      I’m really touched that this post helped you, you’re so sweet to say that. Take care and be gentle with yourself, remember that you deserve good things, and the universe will honour that.

Leave a Reply

