Sleep, Dreams and Shamanism

I have always found sleep an easy thing. My wife can tell you that I fall asleep remarkably quickly and usually sleep quite deeply too.  I never thought much of it, even though for the past few years I’ve been experiencing excessive daytime sleepiness too.  I suppose I thought it had to do with my iron deficiency, or not enough coffee in the morning.  It’s hard to believe that for the past six months or more I’ve been falling asleep at work and not thinking much of it at all. The only reason I’m thinking of it now is because when I fall asleep at work, I instantly slip into a dream.

What little I’ve read suggests that such instant dreaming is not entirely normal, and I’m going to talk to my doctor because getting through the workday is becoming excruciating. But I’m interested in the link between my dreamworld and the Other Worlds of shamanism. Perhaps my brain works a little differently and this could actually be beneficial to my journeying. Perhaps I slip into the Other Worlds easily because the dreamworld is always just a moment away. Or is it vice versa? Maybe I should work on lucid dreaming next.

This is fascinating to me, so if any spirit-workers out there have a dream story to tell, please share!

14 thoughts on “Sleep, Dreams and Shamanism

  1. Being anemic myself, I think I can offer a few observations, at least.
    Whenever my iron levels are lowering a bit too much , I tend to fall into that ‘istantly asleep effect’ but it is an heavy sleep, very nebulous, dreamless more often than not.
    But, even when I am on low iron, there are times I experience being ‘pulled’ into a dream, a very vivid, spirit-innvolving or spirit-related dream that often has me being ‘pulled’ out right after, leaving me perfectly and fully alert upon awakening. Spirit-related dreams are more common if I was feeling a spirit presence/energy around me at least some time before falling asleep.

    So the two alternatives are not mutually exclusive – it might be that you are falling asleep on the work because of your low iron ( notice if walking stairs leaves you on short breathing that’s actually a major indicator of anemia) but you are still drawn to the Otherworld when you do. It seems like the deeper you go with the spirit work, the more dreamspace ecomes something spirits are willing to use.

  2. I would say there are a few possibilities really.

    One is a medical reason, but being that you’ve been wading through the waters of spirit if it is medical its only part of it.

    One of the first things that came to mind, was spirit might have a message for you and is desperately trying to get your attention. If I were you I would do a journey and talk to your spirit helpers. Is there something they want you to know? Is there a reason its specifically happening at work? You may also want to have a discussion saying its not appropriate to be pulling you into dream space while your working, but you make time for them after so they can speak to you. Just be respectful, which I’m sure you already know.

    Another thing that came to mind. Make sure that you are grounding yourself. Those who work with spirit often have a difficult time staying grounding and perhaps your being especially prone to wondering off.

    Just some thoughts. Good luck with everything.

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comment! You’re right, I should definitely talk to my spirit helpers about it. It’s been hard to journey when I’m in danger of falling asleep, but I’m sure my helping spirits will have something of value to say. thanks again!

  3. When I was learning how to journey I fell asleep during journeys and was okay. I’m not sure why that was. But my teacher taught me if I’m having that issue to put my arm in the air or do it sitting up to try to help. I don’t fall asleep anymore when journeying. But maybe even if you fall asleep the information you need can get into your subconscious and make a difference. Good luck with it!

    1. Thank you! Sorry for the late reply, I’m still playing catch-up with life. I usually don’t post awards but I do appreciate them and think they’re wonderful. You’re always so supportive! 🙂

  4. I dream, constantly and even if I hit the snooze button for another 10 minutes, I find myself dreaming a whole new dream. I also have issues with daytime sleepiness, I think its a cross between not spending enough time with the Spirits, which makes them take advantage of my sleeping and want to pull me back in, and iron/anemia issues.

    1. Yes, I think you’re quite right, it is spiritual but also heightened by anemia. I feel for you; I’ve gotten better but I well remember how awful it was to be sleepy all the time!

  5. I’m very glad that you posted this (and also thankful for the many replies). It does confirm that which my Guides have posited recently: “Your physical body is healthy. This is spirit work.” I’ve been zooming around quite a bit lately. Sharing the origins of my spirit-related background requires a bit more detail, however.
    My foray into the Shamanic path is possible thanks to Hank Wesselman.
    My journey into spirit is possible due to the works of Robert Peterson, Robert Monroe (and his proteges), Micheal Newton, and Robert Bruce.
    Considering the journey into spirit following Newton’s work, we are clusters of soul groups, or soul families, or soul neighborhoods. Thusly, the oftentimes heard, “She’s/He’s an “old soul” or an “an advanced soul” isn’t always the case. The linearity implies a duality that doesn’t seem so once a step outside of Earth/ego overlay.
    So it goes that recent travels have found me in very ordinary space with men and women at work, leisure, or whatever. The conversations follow those settings. Our egoic shell can impose a thick layer of seemingly impenetrable isolation. This isolation is quite stifling and frightening as this large Earthly drama moves forward. So it goes that we gather in spirit from time-to-time–without shedding too much ego–to compare notes and to bolster courage. Mostly, we’re just friends having conversations.
    We truly do want to forget “who we are” as we explore each new life, but, jeez! this is a nutty time frame! How can we successfully explore deepening levels of fear and pressing global angst–indeed, massive ego-spawned human mind dross tsunamis–without loosing our wits entirely?

    I believe that some of us must sleep–and dream, in order to bolster our soul group’s courage and strength. The lucidity present and characteristic in these types of dreams, and the ordinariness of the event circumstances staging the event meeting, points to an impending breakdown of the illusionary fabric requisite for “life” as we know it.
    I must confess that I’d much rather witness a humanity that awakens free of ego, but for some reason the opposite is where the largest investment operates. It’s very encouraging to me to find you here.

    Warm Regards,

    Gregor

    1. Thank you Gregor for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful comment. Your description of spirit work as friends gathering to compare notes is very interesting to me. I find myself travelling away from the idea of consulting guides as if they are oracles with answers (I think this is the popular way journeying is taught). I would much prefer spirit chats held with utter openness and participation from all corners. I believe that every absolute and its opposite are simultaneously true, so I would rather drift now through currents and layers of insight than seek single answers to questions. This I do already, I suppose, every night as I am half-asleep, listening to odd phrases and logic-bending thoughts that I’m not certain I myself am thinking.

      Best wishes and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

