Ancestor Spirits

I have done virtually no work with ancestor spirits, but it keeps coming to my mind. I made an ancestor spirit bottle but did not consecrate it, because I knew I wasn’t ready to honour and feed it properly. I tend to feel disconnected from my ancestors, with the exception of my Poppa who has only recently passed away. 

But yesterday at the farm I was telling my mother that I’m doing readings for others (I should note that the readings themselves are kept strictly confidential), when my Gramma spoke up. She said that her grandmother on her mother’s side used to read tea leaves and go to seances. And my mother said, “That’s where you’re getting it from!”

So it made me think that I really could gain a sense of connection with my ancestors if I simply jumped in and started working with them. I bet my Great-Great Grandmother was an interesting woman and I think she’ll have a lot to say.

4 thoughts on “Ancestor Spirits

  1. I know what you mean, as I don’t have much connection with my ancestors. I’ve found it best to pick the ancestors I do feel I have the connection with and work with them.

    1. I think you’re right. From what I’ve heard, some people invoke all their ancestors, or call out to all their ancestors who lived well. I haven’t been able to do that, not even to call out that way in prayer. I really feel like I need a connection before I call on someone.

  2. I haven’t ever really reached out to my ancestral spirits, either. Thanks to some family “we don’t talk about that” stuff, I’ve been denied access to and disconnected from a part of my ancestry all my life. Recently that’s begun to reach a crisis point; I never talked about it, either, but I’m going to, and I’m going to start finding out who the lost part of my past and my nature is.

  3. There’s a lot of that in my family too. I’m not sure what I’ll do about it, but I do feel I’m supposed to do something. I’ll probably seek out ancestor spirits in the Upper World just like I’d seek out a helping spirit, and see who wants to speak to me. Good luck with your search and your path!

Leave a Reply

