Head covering

I have always had a fascination with Mennonites, to the point of wearing headcoverings by choice (largely for fun). Today my wife and I went to a small Mennonite town and found a store that sold traditional clothes. I’m thrilled with my new bonnet! I spend the afternoon dancing around the kitchen making soap.

There is something spiritual for me in covering my hair. It’s like casting a circle and creating sacred space. Sometimes I cover my head for prayer, which marks out the moment as being special. It’s such a simple thing, and even a fun thing. In my mind, there should be no controversy in one’s choice to cover her hair. 

Image

8 thoughts on “Head covering

  1. I’ve considered writing about this, as a lot of Pagans choose to cover their hair for various different reasons. I think it is quite fascinating to think about how, even in prayer, your hair plays such an important role in life. 😉 Blessings!

  2. I think this post is absolutely wonderful. It’s incredible how such a seemingly simple action can in fact become a sacred and intricate part of a person’s spiritual experience. This is a very beautiful post and you are an incredibly beautiful soul 🙂

    1. Oh, you’re so sweet! Thank you so much. I’m really glad to have found your blog, your posts are absolutely lovely — full of wonder and awe. It’s wonderful to find kindred spirits here on the net 🙂

  3. That means so much to me, it’s a very recent venture for me! I’d been thinking about it for a long time but wasn’t sure how I was going to put everything into words, but I’m very glad I did because being able to meet and connect with beautiful kindred spirits and soul friends like you makes everything come together for me. It makes the experience feel complete and I can open up in ways I can’t always achieve with just everyone. Meeting you here is a true blessing, I adore your blog and it carries with it the vibrancy and beauty of your energy! Thank you sister 🙂

    1. I feel new to the blogging world too, but it’s been great. I know what you mean about being able to open up — especially with spiritual passions that I can’t share with just anybody. But it’s a beautiful thing when people can open up, and shine bright like you 🙂 I look forward to reading more from you! Blessings and thanks for all your sweet words!

  4. I am giggling my head off, reading the ” . . . by Jove” bits on this blog. I can’t help it; I am clearly THAT tired.

    Your bonnet is adorable.

    Completely unrelated: your soap making skills wow me. Soap making terrifies me, even cold process soap making. I am wowed.

    1. Giggle away! I think it’s hilarious too. I legally changed my middle name to Jove when my stepfather adopted me, and I still get a kick out of it.

      Thank you for the soap feedback! Cold process soap can be tricky, yes — it took us a few failed batches to really get the knack of it, and even now things can go wrong. But it’s lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

